The Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering

25 June 2013

On 25 June 2013 The Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering was awarded for the first time. The five engineers who created the Internet and the World Wide Web received their award from Her Majesty The Queen at Buckingham Palace.

Robert Kahn, Vint Cerf and Louis Pouzin were recognised for their contributions to the protocols that make up the fundamental architecture of the Internet, Sir Tim Berners-Lee, for inventing the World Wide Web, and Marc Andreessen, who wrote the Mosaic browser.

Earlier that day, the Lord Mayor hosted a lunch at the Guildhall in honour of the winners attended by Princesses Eugenie and Beatrice. The day finished with an Engineering Party, at the Tate Modern on London’s Bankside.

Keywords: HM The Queen, Buckingham Palace, QEPrize, Robert Kahn, Vint Cerf, Louis Pouzin, Tim Berners-Lee, Marc Andreessen, Princess Beatrice, Princess Eugenie, Award Ceremony, Interactive, Guildhall, Engineering Party, Innovations, Internet, World Wide Web, Mosaic Browser

Related media items

QEPrize Highlights 2014-15

01 April 2015

QEPrize Highlights 2014-15

A whirlwind tour of the second Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering Cycle documenting the opening of nominations, school’s events, the engineering party and, of course, announcing Dr Robert Langer as the winner of the QEPrize

QEPrize Winner 2015: Dr Robert Langer

03 February 2015

QEPrize Winner 2015: Dr Robert Langer

The ground-breaking chemical engineer Dr Robert Langer has been awarded the QEPrize for his revolutionary advances and leadership in engineering at the interface with chemistry and medicine.